Who won the NASCAR race yesterday? Complete results from Dover race

Who won the NASCAR race yesterday? Complete results from Dover race

The winner of Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Dover International Speedway put a historic car number back into Victory Lane.

Alex Bowman drove the Hendrick Motorsports No. 48 to victory in the Drydene 400. Bowman’s predecessor in the car, Jimmie Johnson, won a track-record 11 Cup races at the Monster Mile.

Bowman’s 48 was not the best car Sunday; that honor belonged to the No. 5 of Bowman teammate Kyle Larson. But Bowman was in the lead for a late restart after a huge pit stop by his crew. Bowman capitalized on the track position and outran Larson to the checkered flag.

Below is more about Bowman’s win Sunday, plus the complete results of the race.

MORE: Watch NASCAR racing live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

Who won the NASCAR race yesterday?

Alex Bowman led a Hendrick Motorsports sweep of the top four spots in the Drydene 400. He beat runner-up Kyle Larson by 2.017 seconds in his second win of the season.  

Bowman’s pit crew deserves much of the credit for the win. It turned in the single-fastest pit stop of the 2021 season (12.1776 seconds, according to NASCAR) during a late-race caution. That helped Bowman get the car back on the track just in front of Larson for the restart. Bowman cleared Larson on the restart and drove away for the win.

“It feels right to put the 48 back in Victory Lane here after how many races that this car has won here,” Bowman said in a postrace interview.

Larson won the first two stages and led 263 of the race’s 400 laps.


NASCAR results from Dover

Alex Bowman and Kyle Larson finished 1-2 in the Drydene 400. Hendrick Motorsports’ other two drivers, Chase Elliott and William Byron, finished third and fourth, respectively. 

“I can guarantee you this is the most nervous I’ve ever been in a race,” team owner Rick Hendrick told FS1’s Regan Smith after the race. “Great day for the organization. And Alex, congratulations to him. This is a sign of the guys working together and bringing good stuff to the track.”

Hendrick Motorsports is the third organization in NASCAR Cup Series history to finish 1-2-3-4 in a single event, joining Peter DePaolo Racing (Dec. 30, 1956, at Titusville; April 7, 1957, at North Wilkesboro) and Roush Fenway Racing (Nov. 20, 2005, at Homestead-Miami).

Team Penske’s Joey Logano completed the top five.

NASCAR will go road racing next weekend at a new track for the series. The Circuit of the Americas, a course outside Austin, Texas, will host the EchoPark Texas Grand Prix on Sunday, May 23 (2:30 p.m. ET; FS1, TSN, PRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio).

Finish Driver Car No. Team
1 Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
2 Kyle Larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
3 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
4 William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
5 Joey Logano 22 Team Penske
6 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
7 Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
8 Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
9 Daniel Suarez 99 TrackHouse Racing
10 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
11 Bubba Wallace 23 23XI Racing
12 Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske
13 Kurt Busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
14 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
15 Ross Chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
16 Brad Keselowski 2 Team Penske
17 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
18 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
19 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
20 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
21 Christopher Bell 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
22 Erik Jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
23 Ryan Newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
24 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood Brothers Racing
25 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
26 Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports
27 Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
28 Anthony Alfredo 38 Front Row Motorsports
29 Quin Houff 00 StarCom Racing
30 Josh Berry 77 Spire Motorsports
31 Cody Ware 51 Petty Ware Racing
32 Garrett Smithley 53 Rick Ware Racing
33 James Davison 15 Rick Ware Racing
34 Josh Bilicki 52 Rick Ware Racing
35 Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
36 BJ McLeod 78 Live Fast Motorsports
37 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing

Material from the NASCAR Wire Service was used in this report.

Source link

Similar Articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



Most Popular